YetAnotherForum
Welcome Guest Search | Active Topics | Log In | Register

YAF - Image Preview, Theme, and Smilies
mddubs Offline
#1 Posted : Monday, December 08, 2008 11:15:18 PM(UTC)

Rank: Neuling

Joined: 12/8/2008(UTC)
Posts: 3
Points: 9
Location: Chicagoland
Hey TommyB, mddubs from the YAF forums. I registered because I saw your post about the image preview code and I want to see how it works. I'm going to try posting a large image to this post.

I also like your forum theme and smilies. Are they available online anywhere?
File Attachment(s):
blueEagle.png (1.388kb) downloaded 235 time(s).
mddubs Offline
#2 Posted : Monday, December 08, 2008 11:21:33 PM(UTC)

Rank: Neuling

Joined: 12/8/2008(UTC)
Posts: 3
Points: 9
Location: Chicagoland
Didn't work....

Maybe I need to use the insert image button? Let's try that...

http://bunkerhollow.com/stuff/wii.jpg


EDIT TommyB: Removed image tags, image too large :)
mddubs Offline
#3 Posted : Monday, December 08, 2008 11:23:25 PM(UTC)

Rank: Neuling

Joined: 12/8/2008(UTC)
Posts: 3
Points: 9
Location: Chicagoland
That's definitely no preview. So how does it work?

That stuff is for sale by the way, incase you were wondering what the heck I took a picture of my wii for.
TommyB Offline
#4 Posted : Monday, December 08, 2008 11:40:24 PM(UTC)


Rank: Administratoren

Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 464
Points: 1.295
Location: Wilhemshaven, Germany
hmm OOPS
I will check this out in the next one or two days :) Thanks.

Well the forums theme is only a modified one, and the smileys are downloaded from somewhere (don't know the location)
but I can give it to you if you want it :)

Theme and smiley pack are attached now.
You know where to place the files, or? (smileys contains a pack file for easy import in yaf)

But welcome on board :) (and sorry, most content is still german only, but I'm working on that)
File Attachment(s):
YAF Skin - TommyB.zip (57kb) downloaded 273 time(s).
Crystal Emoticons.zip (50kb) downloaded 246 time(s).
Thomas Baumann
BattCursor.Net - Developer
Shotty.Devs-On.Net - Developer
Devs-On.Net - Administrator
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA)

When I post FP:TommyB in a topic, I'm leaving my footprint there so I can track it once I get into coding/supporting
TommyB Offline
#5 Posted : Tuesday, December 16, 2008 7:02:07 PM(UTC)


Rank: Administratoren

Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 464
Points: 1.295
Location: Wilhemshaven, Germany
Figured it out.

Your file is too large. This is a limitation by YAF that I haven't removed.
Attached Images will be handled as downloadable files instread as images if they are larger than about 250kb.

Also the preview images will only process attached images, not the bbcode img tag.

Hope this helps and sorry for the late reply :>
Thomas Baumann
BattCursor.Net - Developer
Shotty.Devs-On.Net - Developer
Devs-On.Net - Administrator
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA)

When I post FP:TommyB in a topic, I'm leaving my footprint there so I can track it once I get into coding/supporting
ALL41_Eggy Offline
#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2009 12:38:44 AM(UTC)

Rank: Neuling

Joined: 1/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4
Points: 12
Location: West Sussex, UK
Hi Tommy, I'm also here for the same reason! :)

I changed the filesize limit and recompiled. If I post anything less than the filesize it shows fullsize (eg 1024x768) but if I go over the filesize limit, i get the link but no thumbnail.

Has the YAF source changed since your mod? I'm running the RC3 vserion you specify.

If you want to look I'll PM you the forum. It's only a test one so you can play around in there once registered.

Thanks for any help you can offer and I'm sorry I don't speak German (well maybe about three words!) ;-)

Regards,

Al.
TommyB Offline
#7 Posted : Wednesday, January 28, 2009 5:47:50 PM(UTC)


Rank: Administratoren

Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 464
Points: 1.295
Location: Wilhemshaven, Germany
Sorry for the question, but have you doublechecked the changes that I have made in my source files?
I have modified 2 files on serveral locations. All of these changes are required :)

If you only change the file size limit, you will not add this feature, you only will allow larger images to be displayed ;)

The result should look like here (german content, sorry, but the images should show it anyway):
http://forum.devs-on.net....aspx?g=posts&t=100

Look in my source files for my changes and merge it to your files. You may want to search for "TommyB" in the files, or try to find it using the informations below.

Resource.ashx, about line 48 (in ProcessRequest)
Resource.ashx, about line 258 (in between GetResponseAttachment and GetResponseGoogleSpell)
MessageAttached.cs, should be somewhere like line 100, but I don't have the original source file here

I'm pretty sure you missed the last one ;)
Thomas Baumann
BattCursor.Net - Developer
Shotty.Devs-On.Net - Developer
Devs-On.Net - Administrator
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA)

When I post FP:TommyB in a topic, I'm leaving my footprint there so I can track it once I get into coding/supporting
ALL41_Eggy Offline
#8 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 10:14:12 PM(UTC)

Rank: Neuling

Joined: 1/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4
Points: 12
Location: West Sussex, UK
Hi Tommy, thanks for the reply.

I first tried to simply use your DLL's. When that didn;t work I merged you changes in with my source in case something had changed.(this is when I also increased the filezise limit)

I'll double check those changes are all in there and let you know.

Thanks again.

Al.
TommyB Offline
#9 Posted : Friday, January 30, 2009 10:40:34 PM(UTC)


Rank: Administratoren

Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 464
Points: 1.295
Location: Wilhemshaven, Germany
Wait a second, I saw this a bit to late (now) ^^

Really RC3? I use RC2 (as you see in the forums footer here)
Maybe there are problems. I will have a look at it in the next days and update my thread at yaf forum, together I will update this thread for those that have notifications on it.

But you should be able to merge my changes to the rc3 source if the yaf team hasn't changed a lot of code in this files.
Thomas Baumann
BattCursor.Net - Developer
Shotty.Devs-On.Net - Developer
Devs-On.Net - Administrator
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA)

When I post FP:TommyB in a topic, I'm leaving my footprint there so I can track it once I get into coding/supporting
ALL41_Eggy Offline
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 31, 2009 2:15:16 PM(UTC)

Rank: Neuling

Joined: 1/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4
Points: 12
Location: West Sussex, UK
Sorry! Typo!

I am using RC2

I'm just going to check all the source channges now so I'll give you an update shortly.
ALL41_Eggy Offline
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 31, 2009 2:54:08 PM(UTC)

Rank: Neuling

Joined: 1/28/2009(UTC)
Posts: 4
Points: 12
Location: West Sussex, UK
Hi Tommy. Good news!

It was simple problem. The YAF installation instructions say to move the YAF dll's to the bin folder of the web root. I may have misunderstood this, so when I updated yafcontrols.dll I was replacing that copy . When I replace the yafcontrols.dll in the BIN folder of the YAF installation, it worked perfectly !

I made the mistake because my forum is not in the root web folder.

No I just need to go back and re-apply the file limit change and I'm there. I'm really new to all this .net stuf so it takes me a while.

I'm behind the times! I can do anything in VB6 and SQL Server 2000 though! :) Even do some RPG coding on old IBM AS/400's but .NET is so different.... time to buy some books.

Thanks for all you work on this mod, hopefully it will make it into the next release of YAF.

Thanks again.

Al.
TommyB Offline
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 03, 2009 11:39:24 PM(UTC)


Rank: Administratoren

Joined: 7/12/2008(UTC)
Posts: 464
Points: 1.295
Location: Wilhemshaven, Germany
Hehe I have started to "develop" (it was more such kind of playing around) with a "Schneider CPC 464". It was such a kind of a keyboard computer like c64 and so on ^^ going through this, visual basic 1 (I think this was deivered in 4 floppy disks, each 740kb), then vb6 and now the .net's ^^

Years ago I have started with .net and even now I don't know everything, so don't wonder if you need your time :)
If you have questions, feel free to ask me / us. For my case I'm happy if I can help :)

Back to topic, nice to hear its now working for you. Maybe you can update the thread in the yaf forum that this problem is solved now. I am sure your english is better than my one ^^

Wish you good luck with .net and much fun with the modified yaf :)
Thomas Baumann
BattCursor.Net - Developer
Shotty.Devs-On.Net - Developer
Devs-On.Net - Administrator
Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator (MCSA)

When I post FP:TommyB in a topic, I'm leaving my footprint there so I can track it once I get into coding/supporting
Users browsing this topic
Guest
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

TommyB's Skin (Based upon Clean Slate theme by Jaben Cargman (Tiny Gecko))
Powered by YAF 1.9.4 | YAF © 2003-2010, Yet Another Forum.NET
This page was generated in 0,292 seconds.